Book Reviews · Young Adult

Book Review: “The Fifth Wave” by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey My rating: 5 of 5 stars

the fifth wave

Oh my Lord, this was such a good book. Have you ever read a book that got you excited and desperate for more as you were reading it? This is one of those books. It’s fantastically written in multiple points of view and really explores the realistic dynamic of the world overridden by aliens and these giant travesties.

My thoughts on the characters:Because the book starts out in Cassie’s POV, I was solely interested in her story. I wanted to know what happened to her and how she was dealing with the invasion. She’s hard and strong and I love that her character is someone who has evolved in order to survive. I was not expecting her to be quite so amazing, but I’m glad she is. On Zombie, I literally screamed when I found out his real name. Talk about plot twists. He’s a little different than what I had been expecting, probably because we learn what kind of person he was in the eyes of other people. But as the story progresses, there is no way we can help falling in love with him. He’s remarkable, trustworthy, kind, and brave (even if he is a bit of one-track mind kind of guy). As for Sammy, Cassie’s little brother, I don’t sympathize very much with him. I think it might be the age difference, but I just can’t understand how a 5 year old can handle all that has happened to him. However, he is a very essential part of the plot and I absolutely love his role in the ending of the book. I am torn on my feelings towards Evan. His identity had me questioning what I really knew about anything in this world. And, ultimately, I think I love him the most besides Cassie. I don’t want to give too much away about him, though. And on everyone else, I find that Yancey’s story is legitimized by their presence. He has dynamic characters with real purpose and depth.

My thoughts on the plot:Holy shit, I would die in the first wave. I’d die in the second, third, and fourth wave. I would not be one of the last people on Earth, basically, compared to anyone in this book. The danger is always present. The tension is always present. From the get go, the reader knows shit is about to go down and not everyone they see is going to make it out alright. It’s exhilarating. I have to admit, though, the beginning is drawn out. The danger is there, but the situation has to be explained and there is no other way to do that besides having the narrator explain it. I like that he included the diary, especially because it’s essential to the plot later on in the novel. The way the story develops, though, in the middle and towards the end, is marvelous. We see different sides of the same story, how some information complements others questions and observations. It’s very nicely plotted out. And the ending, the ending is good but here I am hoping that the next novel has people in it that might not have made it out of the first one.

Overall, I love this book. I can’t wait until the next one comes out. And this is the kind of book I would recommend everyone read.
View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

